Books are a uniquely portable magic. ~Stephen King

One of my favourite quotes is from Albert Einstein:

“If you want your children to be intelligent, read them fairy tales”

And it goes on…

“If you want them to be more intelligent, read them more fairy tales.”

Albert Einstien ROCKS !!

I have documented before my love of reading and my delight that Baby Girl also adores it (she’s now insisting that we turn her homework sight words upside down to test her. No challenge AT ALL for her…) So the new A Passion for Papertrey Challenge seems designed for me ! Here’s my entry:

Once I remembered Mr. Einstein’s quote, the rest fell into place.

Images: open book – All Booked Up:Papertrey Ink, sorry I have NO idea where the fairies and the sentiment came from.

Incidentally, Mr. Einstien is right to a certain degree. Reading to your child is one of the MOST important things a parent can do – it feeds SO many facets of their education. As a teacher, we can spot the kids who are read to, and the inverse. Guess which ones are – usually – more successful ? Ok, lecture over. Go read a book … !

 

5 Comments

  1. caryn said,

    February 2, 2012 at 7:28 pm

    This is gorgeous Margaret and what a great quote that is from AE – love it.

    Thanks for playing along with our challeneg.

    Hugs,
    Caryn xxx

  2. Maureen said,

    February 4, 2012 at 4:28 pm

    This is just delightful! Love that quote from Einstein!! I figure he’s a pretty reliable source on ideas for intelligence 😉 lol As a Grade 2 teacher and mother (of a now 23 year old) I agree whole heartedly with you about reading. My son started in kindergarten…I found out because I was trying to “shorten” up a bedtime story (it was a new book to him) and he caught me!! LOL Have you ever heard this quote? “You may have tangible wealth untold, caskets of jewels and coffers of gold. Richer than I you could never be, I had a Mother who read to me.” I have this on my wall by my desk at work 🙂 Thanks so much for inspiring me today 🙂

  3. February 4, 2012 at 8:48 pm

    Preaching to the converted, Margaret! 🙂
    Your inking on this is amazing!
    Thanks for joining us on A Passion for Papertrey!
    Hugs,
    Aimes
    x

  4. Monika/buzsy said,

    February 5, 2012 at 3:46 pm

    Oh, so pretty. Love that open book and the sponging. :o)

  5. C.Foreman said,

    February 5, 2012 at 5:04 pm

    Glad you follow in my steps so well. Reading to,reading with, reading and sharing, reading…… And a new generation shares the passion
    to our great delight! Like the card, too!
    Maureen’s quote is super as well.


Leave a Reply

