Celtic applique quilt

 

This is a picture of a wedding quilt that I made for some friends of ours who had lived in Scotland and Ireland. The celtic knots are bias tubes of a shot metallic cotton which were hand stitched, and I had to hand-dye the green fabric to get the colour I wanted. The blue fabric was bought because it is a complex design of interlocking knots. (you can click on both photos for a more detailed look !) Here is a close-up of one of the celtic knot blocks :

 

I really love this quilt – and it’s a measure of how much I love my friends that we actually gave it to them ! Luckily, they love it too, and it is the focus in their bedroom decor !!

I am entering this into the applique challenge on the Quilter’s Gallery Blog !

3 Comments

  1. C.Foreman said,

    April 7, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    It is gorgeous and very appropriate.

  2. Margery Spearin-Canada said,

    January 2, 2015 at 12:57 am

    I hope you win ( or won) as it is a wonderful piece of art & quilting Lucky people I am glad they appreciate it! & you

  3. January 11, 2015 at 5:17 pm

    […] Celtic ConnectionsBy: Margaret C, United KingdomBlog: Thread, Ink and Me […]


Leave a Reply

