10 years and a GAZILLION stitches…

I love angels. Not in any New Age-y way, but I love the symbolism of them as God’s messengers. I love the bible’s description of them – usually just as ordinary men ( some entertained angels unaware… ) but whenever an angel is described as unusual, people generally fell on their faces in fear. And one of my favourite parts of the Nativity is when the sky is filled with angels too excited to contain the news of God come to Earth so they sang to the shepherds, men who were considered among the lowliest members of society. How AMAZING would that have been…. and what a lovely picture of the inclusiveness of Christ – from the creme de la creme of society in the Magi, to the poorest in the shepherds…

Anyhow, I digress.

So. Angels.

10 years ago, I didn’t stamp, and I had only really begun to quilt. I stitched. I began with cross-stitch (don’t we all ??!) and then moved into other counted stitches like hardanger and pulled thread work. 10 years ago, Cross Country Stitching brought out an ABC Angel Afghan series which I loved and decided to stitch. I hoped to wrap my first-born in it when I brought them home from hospital. Then life changed – I got Chronic Fatigue and couldn’t concentrate on the patterns, or hold an embroidery frame for very long – stamping was much more satisfying and took over as my main hobby. The afghan was tucked into it’s bag – half-finished. I had my first-born, and was too consumed with looking after a sick baby to be concerned that my dream of wrapping her in an angel afghan hadn’t materialized…

…but….

it was always there, tucked in it’s bag, occasionally chipped away at. Until this year, when, blasted with a relapse of Chronic Fatigue, I pulled it out during the dull, dull sofa-surfing days.

And I finished it.

Here’s a close-up of one of the blocks.

 

I still love it. And my first-born has been wrapped in it – just she now also uses it to spell out words. Cool.

And, yes, I have my next two projects lined up – I don’t plan to devote 10 years to them though !

4 Comments

  1. April 8, 2011 at 9:25 am

    All your hard work has paid off. What a treasure it is.
    Regards Florence.

  2. C.Foreman said,

    April 8, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    Such a beautiful, hopeful outcome from a darkish time. Something to be treasured by both you and the next generation. So many beautiful artefacts to enjoy and pass on, our multi-talented DD! Savour the sunshine.

  3. April 11, 2011 at 10:03 pm

    What an incredible journey and you didn’t give up ! Now you have this beautiful quilt as a reminder of those difficult times and now your sense of achievement. Thanks for sharing your story and of course your beautiful quilt.

    Marie

  4. Carol said,

    April 19, 2011 at 8:54 am

    This is such a beautiful afghan Margaret and such an inspiring message about not giving up. We are told that everything has its season and maybe this was when it was meant to be finished so that you and your first born could more fully share in the experience. You are a very talented woman and I hope you are feeling better now.
    Hugs
    Carol x


Leave a Reply

