For Ali

I rarely make cards without a purpose these days, but this was one. However, in making, it evolved into a card for Ali, a v dear friend who seems to have dropped off the radar recently – and I’ve been so wrapped up in my own stuff I haven’t noticed. Ali  is  the kind of friend you don’t let get away…

It was inspired by Jennifer Ellefson’s card – please note, I say inspired by not CASEd for once !! Hers is very sweet, mine is …bright ! Look, ORANGE !!! Remember, the one inkpad I don’t own – well didn’t. I saw one going cheap recently and it was one of those “o-kayyyy…” moments. But it’s all good …I think… !!!

Anyhow, ingredients…

* DP is K&C (that’s all I know..)

* Cupcake image is Papermania  – actually I think it’s one of the freebie images on the latest issue of the Docrafts magazine ‘Creativity’

* Love Mugs by Amuse ( but I can’t find it on their site so I think it’s gone !)

* ORANGE sofa and sentiment is On My Couch Additions by Papertrey Ink

* ribbon was a freebie from a magazine from when I bought card magazines….

You won’t be able to see in the photo, but there is quite a bit of subtle shimmer on the card. I Stickled the cupcake’s icing with Distress Dried Marigold Stickles and each of the circles is spritzed with a mix of Glimmer mists. I edged the circles with Wild Honey (yumm!!) , then Tea Dye (both Distress).

All in all, I think I like it.

And, Ali, there’s only one cupcake. Mine.

Edited: Oooh ! I just realised that this card qualifies for the new A Passion For Papertrey challenge : Invites. Yay !!

3 Comments

  1. February 24, 2011 at 9:22 pm

    Oooh you work orange so well!! Bet the extra shimmer looks fabulous too IRL!
    Thanks so much for entering this into our challenge on A Passion for Papertrey (what a bonus, eh?! LOL!)
    Hugs,
    Aimes
    x

  2. Caryn said,

    February 25, 2011 at 10:03 am

    what a gorgeous initation – hope Ali takes you up on your offer – oh, and better make 2 cupckaes!!!

    Thanks for joining in at APFP.

    Caryn xxx

  3. Gerdine said,

    February 28, 2011 at 7:20 pm

    Thanks for your nice comment on my invitation cards. Yes, we had a wonderful family reunion!
    Your card looks great as well! Like the orange touch!


Leave a Reply

