Make It Monday – Papertrey Ink challenge

 Nichole (PTI Queen) announced today that they were having a new weekly challenge series called Make It Monday – check out the details here. Basically, this week’s challenge is to use your collection of similar sentiments to make a sentiment background …oh, check the link, I am not describing this well !

ANYWAY !!

I actually have a couple of these sentiment type backgrounds – which I am now inspired to pull out for other cards – but I have had a go at making my own, and I was surprised at how easy and quickly the above card came together! I didn’t have a BIG PTI sentiment to make the focal point so I decided to have a sentiment strip inked in a different colour to make it stand out. Here is the ingredients list:

* wreath image and pink sentiment are from Wreath for All Seasons ( this is it’s first outing! )  I Stickled some of the dots on the wreath to give it that somethin’ somethin’

* other sets include; Sign Language, Through the Trees, Vintage Picnic, Masculine Motifs, Enjoy the Ride and Just the Ticket (I think I got them all !!)

All the stamp resources are available here

I am really happy with how this turned out – and my husband’s response to it was very impressive! He rarely gets excited about my cards, but this one was examined carefully and tilted to get the full effect of the stickles. Okay, you can’t tilt it, but you can click on the photo to get it a bit bigger to see the stickles !!

I’m going to have another shot at this design with a twist – I have a plan….

5 Comments

  1. carol said,

    February 7, 2011 at 7:36 pm

    Hi Margaret, Hope you are well. I love your PTI card and the wreath image is gorgeous. I so wish I had gone for that one!
    Hugs
    Carol x

  2. Paula Laird said,

    February 7, 2011 at 7:52 pm

    Love this! I don’t have any big sentiments either so this may be how I do it. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Lori said,

    February 8, 2011 at 4:09 am

    Love your mix of sentiments!

  4. carol said,

    February 8, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    Hi Margaret,

    Thanks so much for your kind comment on my blog and for your amazing offer to send me some stamped images of the lovely wreath stamp. I would love to take you up on the offer if you really don’t mind. Just send anything you have to hand and don’t go to too much trouble. If there are any stamps you’ve seen on my blog and would like me to return the favour, I would be delighted to do so. We have to make our money stretch these days and trying before you buy is a great idea. I really like looking at your blog and appreciate your dry sense of humour!

    Hugs and best wishes,

    Carol x

    PS my email address is c_steedman@hotmail.com and if you email me, I can send you my address.

  5. C.Foreman said,

    February 8, 2011 at 5:45 pm

    This I like v. much. Look forward to seeing the latest cards soon.


Leave a Reply

