Big “outta the comfort zone” leap

This card started specifically with “I must use these orangey cards…” and ended up as this…

It’s pretty much a stright CASE of Melissa Bickford’s Get Sketchy challenge card taken down a level ( c’mon, she’s a PTI designer – I’m not !!!)

I’m entering this for the new A Passion for Papertrey challenge because this is so far out of my comfort zone I’m not sure I like it. I think it works, but I’m not in love with it … Reasons?

1. It’s orange. No white or cream or restful colours. Orange. Orange and brown. Orange.

2. Woodgrain textured backing. Hmmm…. woodgrain… hmmmm….

3. Mixey-mixey stamps. We have Elzybells ( birdhouses ) Stampin’ Up (sentiment) and Papertrey Ink (ticket stuff)

Oh – kay….. Yeah, I still think it works but….

Anyhow, here’s the deets: stamps as above, embossing folder – Craft Concepts.

Orange…. the only colour of inkpad I don’t own…. hmmmmm….

This is for the box. Yeah, we have a MISSION to get that back on trck before half-term. I have our dining table covered with all the cards I’ve made for the box and spotted a few gaps. Some nice stuff though – I’d buy ’em ! …and these orange cards. Hmmmmm…..

1 Comment

  1. January 18, 2011 at 8:14 pm

    Well I think this WORKS! Love the mix of stamps and the woodgrain backing – totally reflects those sweet bird houses!
    Thanks so much for going out of your comfort zone for us on A Passion for Papertrey!
    Hugs,
    Aimes
    x


Leave a Reply

