Comfort, comfort my people…

As I mentioned in an earlier post, every New Year seems to be tempered with sadness, and, although my family haven’t been directly touched this year, I know of two families that are carrying the burdens of cancer into the hopefulness of this season. I know the pain of this – five years ago, my mother-in-law’s brief remission ended and we faced a terminal diagnosis alongside her. There were several songs that broke through my personal grief to comfort me, one of which was this song “Jesus, Draw Me ever Closer” ( Becker/Getty) For me, it turns back the “Why, God?” question. For me, with my death of my mother-in-law, this is a journey I still walk. For me, it encapsulates the meaning of faith through gritted teeth and tear-filled eyes. I post the video below for those of you who are facing your own long, long journeys.

Leave a Reply

