Nae pressure then…

My mum gave me a commission for a card this weekend. One of her dear friends is turning 80. Now, I reckon I’ve known this woman for 30 years. She is one of the most stylish women I know, and so smart ! She was actually a Primary teacher who taught my brother in the wee rural school we went to and I was scared of her – she was strict ! I now recognise that she was a great teacher – old school, the kind who gets you to learn by giving you interesting things and not accepting the rubbish kids can bring. I now wish I’d had more like her….

So I need to make a card for this smart, stylish, woman who has high standards and expectations. Ok. Did I mention that since retiring, she has taken up and won prizes for her art. No ? Or that her architect husband – since also retiring – teaches art ? Or that her children are in the fields of photography, glass engraving and jewellery. Not dabbling, but earning a living from their craft…

So, as I say, nae pressure then.

My first thought was a HUGE card in primary colours that had a MASSIVE “EIGHTY. WOO-HOO!!” in glittered, shiny gold metallic cardstock. On a bouncy spring, so it moved in the lightest breeze.

However, I feared it might be a tad tasteless.

So I made this card.

Naturally, there’s a story. They live in this gorgeous house and at the bottom of the garden, there is a little gate that leads through the sea-wall to the beach. Yup, it is my fairytale home. So I thought a beach themed card would be appropriate, and the sentiment on this particularly so

* Main image is Inkadinkado’s Down by the Seaside clear embossed and then distress inked with a variety of colours (how many colours do you see in the sea ?!)

* Other shell images are a cheapy foam-backed set from somewhere. Sorry !

* I made all the papers with glimmer mists and distress inks ( that’s pretty arty, right??!)

Finally, if you needed proof that this is indeed a special card…

Yup. I decorated the inside. She’s worth it.

* image is a freebie from Craft Stamper magazine, papers are off-cuts from the work on the front.

 So, mum, is it acceptable ?

1 Comment

  1. C.Foreman said,

    October 11, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    Very much so!I love all of your cards but this is so very appropriate for a dear friend of us all.


Leave a Reply

