Channeling my inner Marilyn…

Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you, happy birthday dear Craig…. happy birthday to yoooooo!

This is a birthday card for my petrol-head friend Emma’s husband’s birthday (try saying that 3 times !) For various reasons, he only learned to drive this year – yet the man has been able to strip and sort out an engine for years, I think that’s VERY cool !

* main image is Papertrey Ink’s “Enjoy the Ride”, leaves are Papertrey Ink’s “Masculine Motifs”

* sentiment is ? I think it’s a TAC from a LONG time ago

* inks are Versafine Onyx, Distress Ink Fired Brick and Weathered Wood, and Kaleidacolor Autumn Leaves

* the bronzy paper is made with various Glimmer Mists

 I borrowed the sketch plan  from Lili of the Valley’s Thursday Challenge. I am trying to extend my style a little bit more from Quick and Lazy, and these sketches aren’t very threatening but are quite layered. I think it’ll be a LOOOOOONG time before I try vintage again though !

I am entering this card for A Passion for Papertrey’s new Autumnal colours challenge – the entries are simply lovely, go check them out ( then come back here and tell me you think mine’s the best !! ;D )

Off now to do another card based on this sketch  – my mother has commissioned an 80th birthday card and I have just the stamps in mind…

4 Comments

  1. carol said,

    October 11, 2010 at 10:40 am

    You’ve really captured the autumn colours on this gorgeous card, Margaret. I find men so difficult to do cards for and I may just case this idea if you don’t mind.
    Hugs
    Carol x

  2. Amy Wanford said,

    October 11, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    Oh we used this set yesterday at our make and take – I used that sentiment on my li’l car too *wink*
    Very autumnal – those leaves look fabulous!
    Thanks so much for joining us on A Passion for Papertrey!
    Hugs,
    Aimes
    x

  3. Tessan said,

    October 12, 2010 at 8:11 am

    Hi Margaret, I don´t mind=), I´m so glad you liked it=)) I may I say your card i stunning with all the lovely colors.

    Tessan

  4. Tessan said,

    October 12, 2010 at 8:16 am

    Hi,
    I´m glad you liked my card=), Your card is wonderful with all those colors, really nice!!!

    Tessan


Leave a Reply

