Mother, look away now….

.. because I’m going to show the world your birthday card.

I’m serious.

Don’t make me use my teacher voice….

Scoot.

So I didn’t originally set out to make my Mothers birthday card – remember chronological making of cards for birthday book?- but the Passion for Papertrey’s challenge this fortnight was to make a polka dot card. I don’t do polka dot stuff. Just not my thing (totally tangent, but I seem to be saying that a LOT recently, and then going mad on it – no layer cards, DL cards – but that won’t happen here. Honest!) Now usually, I’d just let this one go by PARTICULARLY AS I HAVE 2 CHALLENGES TO PREPARE FOR THE REST OF THE MONTH DUE TO MY POSITION AS FEATURED STAMPER ON APFP!!!! YES, I KNOW I’M SHOUTING – I GET TO !!!!

Ahem.

But the prize for this challenge is the exclusive Round and Round Anniversary PTI set. The one you can’t buy. It’s pretty….

So. Polka dots. Right.

I don’t have ANYTHING like that in my (immense) stash. I considered downloading some papers but wasn’t too thrilled about that. And then it hit me. If I am good enough to be  FEATURED STAMPER ON APFP!!!! then  surely I can, um …make my own? Actually, it was the little rounded sentiments in the PTI All Booked Up set that triggered this idea, and it was SUPER easy to do. And I LOVE the effect. It doesn’t change my mind about polka dots, but I will use it again !

So here it is. Mum’s card.

* Images: All Booked Up, sentiment is from Vintage Picnics – both by Papertrey Ink

* Ink is Versafine Onyx and Elzybells Whipped Cream

So why is this so my mum? Well, we are HUGE book people in our family. I grew up in a house that seemed to be decorated by books. I remember going to other people’s houses and wondering where they kept their books, cos I couldn’t see them ! I can’t sleep without reading, and it is one of my greatest pleasures in life. For which I have to thank my mother. She just threw books at us from a VERY early age (apparently “BOOK!” was my first word !) and has done ever since. It’s not Christmas if there isn’t a book. And now I follow her habit of giving all the children I know books as presents. Including my own child – it’s not an issue, she adores books as much as I do – here’s the proof ( she was about 6 wks old at this point…!)

So, Mum, thanks for giving me life and all that – but, SERIOUSLY, thank you for the gift of reading.

And, Mother, I also know you couldn’t help but read this all the way through….

4 Comments

  1. Amy Wanford said,

    September 2, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    Oh you make me chuckle, Margaret! I really hope your mum managed to resist temptation because she’s in for a treat with this card!
    I love the way you managed to incorporate polka dots into your card! Seriously?! You not a fan of the dots?! At all?! Guess I find that hard to believe because I love ’em! LOL! Well stick to the homemade polka dots at least because I love what you’ve made here!
    Thanks so much for joining in with our challenge on A Passion for Papertrey (and for being our Featured Stamper too!) I had a feeling not many could resist this challenge with the prize offered *wink*
    Hugs,
    Aimes
    x

  2. carol said,

    September 5, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    Hi Margaret,

    I just love this card. Those books at the bottom are really good. I would never have thought to use them that way. I can’t wait to get my hands on the stamps when my PTI order finally arrives.
    Hugs,
    Carol x

  3. erin said,

    September 18, 2010 at 12:28 am

    Love the way you’ve used this set!

  4. carol said,

    February 5, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    Margaret, I loved this when you first posted it and I’m so glad you chose it to enter the PTI anniversary bash. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

