Cards for Tearfund.

Ok – so I didn’t get back to you. Well, I warned you I was busy !

Anyhow, these are the cards I was going to show you.

And here is why they are special.

About 2 months ago, it was Tearfund Sunday in our church. Tearfund is a Christian organisation who work to provide relief from poverty through the local churches. We watched a video that told the story of Stidia – go here and spend 5 minutes watching it – I was very moved.  Briefly, Stidia lives in a rural village in Uganda, Africa. She is thirteen years old and every day she walks for two hours to collect water for her family. Every day, she is likely to be beaten – or worse – by gangs of boys. Her other big problem is that she is frequently late for school and misses lessons…. Seriously – this is one of her major concerns after the threat of rape !

I came away from church feeling very frustrated because I couldn’t think how I could do something more practical. My time is very tied up between work and family. However, I have also been listening to a lot of Joyce Meyer and I remembered a broadcast she had done where she talked to a woman who had raised $1000 for her charity by providing a spa day for her friends – she was a qualified masseuse and used her skills to raise funds. And a lightbulb went off. I make cards. I like making cards. People like my cards.  I could sell some of my cards…

So I’ve decided to spend the summer building up a stash of cards to sell. I’m thinking about once a month in my church, and perhaps at work too – if all the high heid yins involved agree.

And these are my first designs – think they’ll do ? I’m planning on charging £1 for a basic card such as above.

And the cool thing? If I just sell these 4 cards above, that’ll still make a difference to people like Stidia.

5 Comments

  1. June 17, 2010 at 5:49 pm

    […] They’re ok, but I’m not in love with them. Hopefully someone else will be – at least enough to buy them from the box ! […]

  2. June 24, 2010 at 5:07 pm

    […] You know where these are going, right? Yup, into the box. […]

  3. June 24, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    […] Although I made a couple of spares for my own use, as always, for the box. […]

  4. June 24, 2010 at 8:09 pm

    […] One of these babies is going to my wonderful friend Annie – who I’ve known now for 16 years (WHAT !!!) since we worked together in the Black Hole of Calcutta …oops, I mean a BT call centre. The rest are for the box. […]

  5. August 27, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    […] is for the box – y’know, the one I planned to fill over the summer? Well, we’re getting there again […]


Leave a Reply

